Saturday, December 5, 2015

Six historical fantasy novels that don’t skimp on the details

Sam Reader is a writer and conventions editor for The Geek Initiative. He also writes literary criticism and reviews at One of his top six historical fantasy novels that don’t skimp on the details, as shared at the B & N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog:
Shades of Milk and Honey, by Mary Robinette Kowal

Mary Robinette Kowal’s The Glamourist Histories are set during England’s Regency period, with a magic system that, in Kowal’s words, “won’t break history.” The magic they use, known as “glamour,” involves weaving “folds” of illusory magic together to create sensations—sights, sounds, smells, and the like—usually at the cost of immense amounts of energy for the user. With this groundwork, Shades of Milk and Honey embarks on a smaller-scale romantic fantasy similar to the works of Jane Austen or the Brontë sisters, but with the “artistic” discipline of glamour added to the list of talents a young women of the Regency should master. Shades is the first of a five-book sequence following the adventures of Jane Ellsworth and her husband, the Glamourist Vincent; the final volume, Of Noble Family, was published earlier this year.
Read about the other entries on the list.

My Book, The Movie: Glamour in Glass.

--Marshal Zeringue